Thoughts about education

Some people have said that my blog is a bit soft , rosy or doesn’t give the hard facts/ details about life in this part of the world  .Thank you for the feedback but I’d like to explain a few things.

Well, I don’t write certain things in this blog becauses I see no use in getting into hot water for for things written in thousands of other pages . It would just keep me out of the classroom. And that would be a real bore .

So those wanting critical commentary of this country I suggest they go to the inumerable pages devoted to that.

But I happen to believe that most of what has  happened here in the last 50 years is because of the levels of education or more precisely , the deterioration and glossing over of such ,which in my opinion , sadly, leads to lowered levels of decency to one another and the dignity of all and much more. 

But , I see one way of overcoming the challenges that we face everyday here, in education.What do I mean by education ? I guess a lot but overcoming those challenges through education will surely be a slow , unflashy and tedious endeavour but I’m in  it for the long run .

Join me and the students in this journey by dropping in here every now and then. 

I wish my blog and the links in it to serve as a portal or a starting point through which students can discover the world , more importantly, the country they live in , and most importantly : themselves.

And anyone who is not a student I hope they get some ideas and info about Mandalay that will be useful.

I hope I don’t sound popish or preachy in some ways /places in this blog but bide with me as I try to start discussions , give advice , information and sometimes a bit of guidance and also try to  get more kids to read / be curious /submit comments and  formulate views on their lives , futures and etc.

Best Regards,

 USL 

~ by bestmandalay on April 11, 2007.

One Response to “Thoughts about education”

  1. Hi Saya,

    When I received information about this blog, at first, I thought “Oh…that would be just “one” as usual though I know your helping-spirit.

    But now I couldn’t help noticing the whole idea of this blog and would like to take this opportunity to say “It would be of great value to students, in other words, next generation”.

    Saya,
    I just remember chines proverb:- “Give a man a fish, and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish, and you feed him for a lifetime.”

    I believe ” You are trying to teach a man to fish”.

    Wish you all the best…
    Aung Kyaw San @ James
    http://WWW.STUDYING-SINGAPORE.COM

Leave a Reply

 
