It’s the endless summer upon us again

Well as the title says we are gonna roast for a longish while over here. Already the midday sun comes searing down, mercilessly and we consume up to 20 times the amount of liquids we usually do in the cool months.

Not much has been going on in the US of Myanmar and that that has you can read up in news sites. No need to regurgitate that stuff. But will give my views on the upcoming events in post-modernistic essay-type poems that no-one can decipher or understand except for 3-4 people on this earth and that few does not include me,myself.

Short summary of what has been going on in my immediate surroundings in past few months :

me gained 5 pounds
wife is bald as was buddhist nun for a week
younger daughter can repeat Taylor Swift songs word for word
elder daughter broke leg
started up local education NGO ( will elaborate on that soon )

I have also continued to be a devotee of the art of making images with light ( known popularly as photography) and am finding great solace and inspiration in it. Will stick up some of my latest stuff on the blog for all to enjoy,criticize or slam later on.

Can you believe it ? I will be taking pics while perspiring like a hog in a sauna in the Upper Burma heat in the coming months ? So know ye all…. the images that ye look upon have been created with effort… much effort…and pig-headedness and recklessness too, against and in the elements that most would wither in ………..

But on this site you’ll not see pretty post card pics like the stuff that jump out of travel mags and nat geo and slap ur eyeballs… No No no sir ! …. only images of my home country … as I try to show it ….charming but gritty… elegant but unsophisticated….. restless,cruel but at peace…… wanting but satisfactory….. contradictions galore…. proud to be a denizen of this place “and” difficult to be inhabitant of it ….of a place of great natural beauty and fiendish poverty !

Tune in regularly folks !

~ by bestmandalay on March 24, 2010.

3 Responses to “It’s the endless summer upon us again”

  1. thanks a lot fpr the information

  2. I ended up at your site quite by accident.

    I have just started to read ‘Burmese Days’ by George Orwell, and was searching for the meaning of a few burmese words he uses.

    Suddenly there was your rather enigmatic site full of rather excellent photos and well phrased english.

    I felt there was a US flavour to the english, but what would a US citizen be doing teaching english in Mandalay at this moment in time?

    Reading a little further it seems you are in fact Burmese:

    “only images of my home country … as I try to show it ….charming but gritty… elegant but unsophisticated….. restless,cruel but at peace…… wanting but satisfactory….. contradictions galore…. proud to be a denizen of this place “and” difficult to be inhabitant of it ….of a place of great natural beauty and fiendish poverty !”

    Very Burmese. Clearly you love your country very deeply. I feel I understand something of the characteristics of your country that you describe as I have visited both your neighbours: India and Thailand.

    I’m curious to know more if you are disposed to reveal more.

    **** Ha ha ha here’s your comment … something to do with WordPress rather than me I think. But it may not have been WordPress’s fault either coz I have had to get to my own blog through proxies and lotsa things could have have happened to ur comment while attempting to approve etc etc. That one of the reasons I have not been updating my blog as I should.

    Anyways my apologies and I sent u a separate email too.

    USL

  3. Yesterday I sent a comment to this post:

    https://bestmandalay.wordpress.com/2010/03/24/its-the-endless-summer-upon-us-again/#comment-3097

    I received confirmation messages and everything!

    I even saw my comment on your site.

    Today my comment has disappeared.

    Do you delete comments? Even extremely civilised and complimentary comments such as mine?

    Sad, that.

    187.68.7.51
    2010/10/29 at 4:29 am

    I ended up at your site quite by accident.

    I have just started to read ‘Burmese Days’ by George Orwell, and was searching for the meaning of a few burmese words he uses.

    Suddenly there was your rather enigmatic site full of rather excellent photos and well phrased english.

    I felt there was a US flavour to the english, but what would a US citizen be doing teaching english in Mandalay at this moment in time?

    Reading a little further it seems you are in fact Burmese:

    “only images of my home country … as I try to show it ….charming but gritty… elegant but unsophisticated….. restless,cruel but at peace…… wanting but satisfactory….. contradictions galore…. proud to be a denizen of this place “and” difficult to be inhabitant of it ….of a place of great natural beauty and fiendish poverty !”

    Very Burmese. Clearly you love your country very deeply. I feel I understand something of the characteristics of your country that you describe as I have visited both your neighbours: India and Thailand.

    I’m curious to know more if you are disposed to reveal more.

    **** Ha ha ha here’s your comment again……..… something to do with WordPress rather than me I think
    (It won’t let me approve ur comment) . But it may not have been WordPress’s fault either coz I have had to get to my own blog through proxies and lotsa things could have have happened to ur comment while attempting to approve etc etc. That one of the reasons I have not been updating my blog as I should.

    Anyways, my apologies and I sent u a separate email too.

    USL

Leave a Reply

 
